Seven Lady Blue Devils earn Post-Season Softball Honors

Seven Lady Blue Devils earn Post-Season Softball Honors

Seven members of the 2017 Kansas City Kansas Community College softball team have earned post-season honors headed by All-Jayhawk Conference first teamer Allison Kasick.

            A freshman designated hitter from Basehor-Linwood, Kasick was named to the All-District E first team and All-Jayhawk first team. Sophomore LaTisha Thomas of Highland Park was named to the All-Jayhawk second team and Turner sophomore Kaylynn Stratton earned all-conference honorable mention.

            Kasick hit a record .504 for the Blue Devils this season and led the team hit doubles (15), home runs (10), runs-batted-in (60) and slugging percentage (.882). Her .504 batting average was second best in the Jayhawk. A two-year starter, Thomas hit .434 and led the Blue Devils in stolen bases with 20 while Stratton's .472 batting average was fifth best in the conference.

            Joining Kasick on the All-District E first team are shortstop Candice Jennings of Basehor-Linwood and outfielder Hannah Bishop of Van Horn. Both are sophomores. Thomas and Stratton are joined by freshman Mikaela Hoffart of Salina and sophomore pitcher Megan Sumonja of Lawrence on the all-district second team.

            Bishop was third in hitting at .441, third in RBI with 28 and tied with Kasick and Stratton with the team lead in hits with 60; Jennings was second in doubles with 14 and fourth in hitting with a .412 average. Hoffart was second in RBI's with 35 while hitting .365 while Sumonja was the team leader in pitching wins with 10 while compiling a 3.46 ERA.  




Seven KCKCC softball players earned post-season honors this spring. They are (from left) Alison Kasick, All-Jayhawk and All-District first team; LaTisha Thomas, All-Jayhawk and All-District second team; Kaylynn Stratton, All-District second team and All-Jayhawk honorable mention; and All-District selections Candice Jennings, first team; Mikaela Hoffart, second team; Hannah Bishop, first team; and Megan Sumonja, second team. (KCKCC Photo by Alan Hoskins)