Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Legislators give KCKCC National Champions standing ovation

Legislators give KCKCC National Champions standing ovation

Highlighted by a standing ovation from Kansas state legislators, Kansas City Kansas Community College's national basketball champions were honored at the State Capitol in Topeka Friday.

            Hosted by State Rep. Dr. Valdenia Winn, head Blue Devil coach Joe McKinstry and assistant coach Timeka O'Neal brought the championship plaques to the podium for a photo opportunity before Dr. Winn was joined by other Wyandotte County legislators in saluting the team with a resume of the Blue Devils' road to the national championship with special emphasis on playoff wins over Johnson County and Highland that earned a national tournament berth.

            Team members (from left) Diamond Williams, Lenaejha Evans, Lizzie Stark, Brodi Byrd, Lillie Moore, Carson Chandler and Caroline Hoppock watching from the front row of the gallery were then given a standing ovation by the legislators. Because of class commitments, five Blue Devils were unable to make the trip – Camryn Swanson, Nija Collier, Kisi Young, Caitlyn Stewart and Lexy Watts.

            The visit also included a visit to the office of Gov. Laura Kelly by (from left) assistant coach Timeka O'Neal, Lenaejha Evans, Lizzie Stark, Lillie Moore, Diamond Williams, Brodi Byrd, Caroline Hoppock, Carson Chandler, head coach Joe McKinstry and Rep. Dr. Valdenia Winn.